God

Isn’t God a simple way of putting in your faith onto something?

I was watching Derren Brown and the episode covered the fact that how some people are lucky while others aren’t. He wanted to show that this was simply a matter of seizing opportunity and having a firm belief.

Now seizing opportunity is a choice we make almost everyday. The choice we make also depends on our past experiences and the lessons we derive from them. I don’t want to focus on this aspect.

Firm belief – this is what I find enticing.

May be some of us find it easier to put their belief on something else rather than on ourselves. Like believing in luck, believing in God, following a ritual etc. All these acts, is a way of putting your belief in something else.

Lets see this by an example –

  1. “I know I’ll win this game” – Faith in one self.
  2. “May the best man win” – (Somewhere in between. I can’t decide where to put this.)
  3. “Let God decide who wins” – Putting faith in something else

 Now A might seem over confident to some or simply dynamic and confident to others. C might seem under confident and probably even hypocrite to some or humble and devoted to others. Its just a matter of perspective and of course what you think of ABC will also depend on your own belief system.

 Lets try another example –

  1. “I can do better than him. Let me do this”
  2. “I can give it a try”
  3. “I don’t think I can do any better, but I’ll do it if you insist”

I’ve ordered them exactly as above so will not explain them individually. Can you see the similarity too?

Does A think he is powerful enough and C thinks – I can’t be that good, but yes this God, or this lucky statue surely has more powers.

Or is it that A is forgetting humility?

For me I’ll say – even when I know I can do good, I’d feel scared of saying it out loud even in my mind, lest I offend “someone”. Even if I feel like A I’ll act like B or C.

I am certainly not saying that anyone of ABC is superior or better. I am struck by the idea that atheist or not, we are all the same. The only thing that differentiates is on whom or what you place this faith or firm belief.

Leave a Reply

