A new beginning

3rd March 2012My First Granny Squares

I learnt to crochet in July 2011 and now looking back its hard to imagine that there was a time it seemed impossible to even hold that hook and thread together, let alone make a pattern using it.

But I had a good teacher who always took such a keen interest in my projects and even now motivates me to take the quality level and difficulty level up . I am so grateful to her for opening up the world of hooks, yarns and needles to me.

What made learning it more difficult was that I wanted to start with the difficult yarn first and without paying any heed to the advice of first using a thicker yarn / wool I started with thin cotton yarn and needle like thin hook.

Words of encouragement kept coming and with a bit of perseverance my first ever granny’s square was ready. Then I made the same design with wool and realized that my mentor was so damn right!

I am now teaching ‘crochet’ to others. It is so much fun teaching them and they even listen to me 🙂 When I see them, I realize all the more that I must have given my mentor a really tough time.

Crocheting has also brought out a new emotion in me. The joy of spreading knowledge. It makes me happy just to think that there will be more new people joining the club and get entangled in this mysterious and ever increasing web of yarns woven mostly with love and passion with a little help from hooks and needles.

“I have been rather fortunate to have a friend and fellow crafter in you…and I have enjoyed teaching you crochet more than you would have enjoyed learning…..and let me tell you that the learning has been mutual….crochet for you, and perseverance & humility for me” – Words from my teacher / mentor on the original blog post. Don’t want them to be lost in transition, so adding them to main content!

Leave a Reply

